Executive Committee

The Department of Psychiatry's Executive Committee identifies challenges and opportunities facing the Department and identifies solutions to address them. The composition of the committee aims to represent the diversity within the Department while maintaining a size that is small enough to permit effective functioning.

Meet the Executive Committee

Jordan Karp, MD, is the Department Chair and Professor of Psychiatry. He is an expert in the fields of geriatric psychiatry, depression treatment, and suicide prevention. Dr. Karp’s priorities for the Department include: providing the best care possible to our patients and their families today; preparing the next generation of psychiatrists to provide better care in the future; produce the advancements in knowledge required to improve our ability to diagnose, treat, and ultimately prevent mental illness; and engage with diverse stakeholders to assure our workforce represents and meets the needs of our community and promotes social justice.

Patricia Harrison-Monroe, PhD is a Clinical Associate Professor of Psychiatry.  Dr. Harrison-Monroe, a licensed clinical psychologist, is the Department’s Vice Chair, Director of Community Outreach and Clinical Development. She also directs the Early Psychosis Intervention Center (EPICenter) that is located at the Whole Health Clinic. She came to us from New York City where, until 2002, she served as Assistant Commissioner with the New York City Department of Mental Health.  

Michael Grandner, PhD is a Clinical Assistant Professor of Psychiatry. Dr. Grandner is the Director of the Sleep and Health Research Program and an Assistant Professor in the Department of Psychiatry at the University of  Arizona College of Medicine - Tucson. He is Board-Certified in Behavioral Sleep Medicine.

Kathy Smith, MD is an Associate Professor of Psychiatry. Dr. Smith is an Assistant Dean of Student Affairs in the College of Medicine. She has additional specialized training in women's mental health and directed the Women's Mental Health conference in the Department of Psychiatry for two years. She is interested in novel educational teaching methods in psychiatry education.

Saira Kalia, MD is a Clinical Assistant Professor of Psychiatry. Dr. Kalia is also the associate program director of the residency program and medical director of the Adult Outpatient Psychiatry Clinic. Dr. Kalia specializes in perinatal psychiatry and maternal mental health. 

Karen Weihs, MD is a Clinical Associate Professor of Psychiatry and a Comprehensive Member of the Arizona Cancer Center. She is the Medical Director of Psychosocial Support and PsychoOncology Services for the Arizona Cancer Center. Dr. Weihs has developed a model for cancer patients, mental health care including a collaborative team of oncologists, social workers, and psychiatrists.

Katharine Woods, DO is a Clinical Assistant Professor of Psychiatry. Dr. Woods is the medical director of our inpatient units. 

Jessica Bodzioch, MA is the Personnel Affairs Coordinator for the Department of Psychiatry.